Baking Bacon in the Oven

3

by 365daysofbacon

image

I feel like it’s old-school to cook the bacon in the oven. Then again, I normally cook mine in cast iron pans. Aka, it doesn’t really matter.  ðŸ˜‰

Baking bacon in the oven turned out better than I expected! And it was so incredibly easy.

I’d do it again for sure.

I used bacon ends, which can take a while to fry in the pan, especially the fatty ones. I loved the way that oven baking got them nice and crispy. The fat practically melts in your mouth. Awesome.

BAKING BACON IN THE OVEN

INGREDIENTS

  • bacon ends or strips

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400.
  2. Line a jellyroll or similar pan with foil. (You’ll want to use a pan with edges, so potential grease doesn’t run off. I recommend double lining it, too, just to prevent grease from leaking and burning onto the pan itself.)
  3. Set a wire rack on top of the foil-lined pan. (If you don’t one, I assume you can just cook the bacon right on the foil, but I haven’t yet tried it)
  4. Place bacon on wire rack.
  5. Cook @ 400 for 20-30 minutes.
  6. If desired, broil on High an additional 3 minutes.
  7. Let rest for a few minutes before crunching down!

Thanks to Make for getting me on the right track with this. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Baking Bacon in the Oven

  1. Donna Frasca says:

    I don’t know if I’d try this again. I did it once and my oven was a smoking mess!

  2. […] Cook bacon. I recommend baking on a wire rack in the oven @ 400 degrees for about a half-hour, per these instruc… […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

