Bacon Chocolate Reeses Cups

10

by 365daysofbacon

image

Healthy Reeses. Bacon-fied. This is how it started:

Me: “What should we make for dessert?”

ManBacon: “Umm”  [Silence. And then…brilliance]  “Maybe healthified Reeses?”

Me: “WITH BACON!”

This is why I keep him around, mind you. More excuses to eat bacon. AND chocolate.

I’m proud to announce my bacon-fied Reese’s even squeaked out a semblance of approval from the fam, which is a big deal because (1) they’re prejudice against dark-chocolate, (2) they’re against the marriage of chocolate and bacon, and (3) they are generally suspicious of my food creations.

But I’m pretty sure they rather liked the bacon-y crunch.

Toodle-ooo.

BACON CHOCOLATE REESES CUPS

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 pkg bacon
  • (optional) 1-2 tbsps bacon grease
  • 1 cup chocolate baking cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsps coconut oil
  • 4 tbsps nut butter of your choice
  • sweetener of your choice, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp Celtic sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Cook bacon, drain on paper towels, set aside in freezer to cool quickly. Reserve some grease.
  2. Line regular or mini-sized muffin tin with muffin cups. I recommend the foil kind.
  3. In small saucepan on low heat, melt together cocoa powder and coconut oil, stirring to dissolve sweetener.
  4. Stir in nut butter, bacon grease, and salt. Remove from heat.
  5. Crumble bacon into fine bits.
  6. Stir in crumbled bacon.
  7. Taste. Add in additional salt or sweetener, to taste.
  8. Spoon into muffin cups.
  9. Sprinkle with just a touch of extra salt on top.
  10. Place pan in freezer for 30 minutes, or until chocolate hardens.
  11. Send me your thanks (paper bill form accepted).  😉

Store in fridge in the rare event of leftovers.

10 thoughts on “Bacon Chocolate Reeses Cups

  1. afoodieslife says:

    This is the kind of thing that will illicit marriage proposals. Hope you’re ready. More importantly I hope your man is ready.

  2. […] Bacon Chocolate Reeses Cups. I haven’t made these but I think I might need to… […]

  3. dasha says:

    Oh how I love this site, thank you for finding me, so that I can find you! This is great!!!!

  4. bentodays says:

    Interesting combination! Love how you feature so many different ways to use bacon in ways I’ve never thought of.

  5. Bri Harding says:

    Love your blog. These look amazing!

Leave Some Bacon Love!

