Bacon Cinnamon Rolls with Bacon Caramel Pecan Glaze

13

by 365daysofbacon

image

Sometimes bacon and eggs aren’t enough. Sometimes you need a little something to top off the first meal of the day (that’s not alcohol or chocolate — hey, it’s still before noon, people).

Bacon Cinnamon Rolls with Bacon Caramel Pecan Glaze. They’ll send you over-the-top. Like straight to bacon heaven.

Yep. They’re that good. Yum, yum, yum … bacon.

Bacon Cinnamon Rolls with Bacon Caramel Pecan Glaze

wpid-IMG_20130212_223249.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pkg cooked bacon, crumbled  and/or
  • reserved bacon grease, placed in fridge or freezer till spreadable like butter

DOUGH

CINNAMON/BACON/NUT FILLING:

  • 2 tbsp bacon grease
  • 4 heaping tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cloves
  • 2-4 tbsp Swerve (or similar)
  • (optional) pecans (and/or walnuts, almonds, etc)
  • (optional) cooked, crumbled bacon

BACON CARAMEL PECAN GLAZE:

  • a batch of my Bacon Caramel Glaze
  • (optional) pecans (and/or walnuts, almonds, etc)
  • (optional) cooked, crumbled bacon

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Fry the bacon, drain on paper towels, set in fridge or freezer to quickly cool if using in filling inside the roll.
  3. Stir together flour, psyllium, baking powder, Swerve, and salt.
  4. Beat in egg whites.
  5. Add boiling water and stir well until dough starts to thicken.
  6. Grease a large piece of parchment (preferably with bacon grease, otherwise coconut oil or butter). Plop the dough on the paper.
  7. Push, slap, and otherwise mold it into a large rectangle. (Yes, it’s kinda sticky)
  8. Cover dough with layer of bacon grease.
  9. Sprinkle cinnamon and Swerve onto the rolled out rectangle. Rub cinnamon/Swerve mixture into the dough with your hands. Add crumbled bacon and/or nuts if desired.
  10. Starting at one edge of the rectangle, loosen the edge and start to roll it over. Slowly lift the parchment paper, and allow the dough to naturally roll. Slice roll into 8 smaller rolls.
  11. Place rolls in cast iron pan greased well with bacon grease (or butter or coconut oil, tho these are sub-par alternatives). No cast iron? You could just put them on a cookie sheet, or maybe even in the cups of a muffin tin.
  12. Bake for 45-55 minutes. (PS, almond flour will look browner than it is. PPS, sometimes psyllium will give baked goods a purplish-tint…fun!)
  13. Set pan on wire rack, away from heat, to cool.
  14. Make caramel glaze. (If you want more of a frosting spread than a bacon glaze, set it in the fridge/freezer to cool until thickened.)
  15. Drizzle glaze over rolls, sprinkle with additional crumbled bacon/nuts, and enjoy!

Feel free to name your first-born child “Bacon,” in honor.

Credit-where-credit-is-due: I was inspired for this recipe by one of my favorite blogger’s cookbooks The Art of Healthy Eating – Sweets.

13 thoughts on “Bacon Cinnamon Rolls with Bacon Caramel Pecan Glaze

  1. canadagirleatspaleo says:

    MAN, your blog is just craaazzy. I love it. every time I see you pop up in my reader I can’t wait to look and see WHAT ELSE have you come up with?! this looks incredible 🙂

  2. paleosusan says:

    That looks fabulous!

  3. Ally says:

    I made this yesterday for Brunch. I don’t know what I did wrong, but it was def not the right consistancy. I just kept adding more almond flour until it was workable, but even then I ended up making a coffee cake rather than rolls because it was so sticky. It was DELICOUS!! And the Caramel sauce?? ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!?!? Anyway, was I supposed to add the boiling water a little at a time or the whole cup at once? That’s the only thing I can think I did wrong. Either way, thank you, it was amazeballs and everyone loved it.

    • Hi Ally 🙂

      I’m sorry they didn’t turn out quite as expected, but I’m so glad they were still tasty, at least!

      I’m guessing you didn’t do anything wrong!

      The dough is supposed to be a little extra-sticky, thought some of the stickyness seems to bake out. Or maybe it was the almond flour? I know that almond meal is different than almond flour, and i’ve noticed some absorbtion differences btwn brands like Bob’s Red Mill, the Trader Joe’s almond meal, and the one I’ve been using lately (Blanched Almond Meal Flour, 5 lb.)

      I love the coffee-cake idea. I bet it would make a good bread pudding, too. mmmmmm. thank you!

      • Ally says:

        Do not apologize, it was still heaven in my mouth. Interesting about the different flours vs meals. I’ll have to remember that.
        I used some of the leftover bacon caramel as a topping on my sweet potato today too. Amazeballs!!!

      • ohhhh! caramel on the sweet potato…mmm that sounds fabulous

  4. […] fruit salad, baked apple french toast and Bacon Coffee Cake with Bacon Caramel Glaze, adapted from this recipe and when I say adapted, I mean I screwed up the recipe somewhere and had to improvise… I […]

  5. jesselyn6585 says:

    I wanted to make these this weekend and pulled up the recipe and realized I have no idea what Swerve is. I googled it and 2 different products came up. I’m assuming it’s the sweetener and not the dairy product?

Leave Some Bacon Love!

