Bacon Almond Chicken Stir Fry

14

by 365daysofbacon

image

This is probably one of my favorite recipes of all time.

It’s like a thick, creamy, nutty, chicken curry sprinkled with crunchy bacon. So satisfying in my belly.  πŸ™‚

The direct quote from ManBacon (who’s also a fan of it):

“It sticks to your ribs”

That it does, ManBacon. That. it. does.  πŸ™‚

Bacon Almond Chicken Stir Fry

INGREDIENTS

  • bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • bacon grease
  • chicken, cooked
  • 2 bags shredded cabbage
  • 6 tbsp nut butter – I used almond butter
  • 3 tbsp hot water
  • 3 tbsp coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp tamari soy sauce
  • juice from 1/4 small lime
  • 1/2 tsp fresh minced garlic
  • 1 tsp red pepper

(optional ingredients) 

  • sweetener – I used 1 tbsp Swerve
  • chopped green onions, for garnish
  • white onion, chopped
  • Celtic sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Fry bacon, rest on paper towels in fridge.
  2. Cut raw chicken into cubes and place single-layer in glass baking pan(s). (Or cook the chicken and shred it after.)
  3. If desired, drizzle chicken with melted bacon grease and top with white onion. Bake @ 350 for 15 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, melt 3-4 tbsp bacon grease to liquid in large frying pan over medium-low heat.
  5. Dump both bags of cabbage into frying pan (Note: it will cook down). Wilt the cabbage until soft, 5-10 minutes, stirring so doesn’t burn. Set aside.
  6. Stir together nut butter and hot water. Add in tamari soy sauce, coconut milk, lime, red pepper, garlic, and sweetener.
  7. Stir chicken and nut butter mixture into cabbage over low heat, just until warm.
  8. Serve garnished with crumbled bacon and green onions.
14 thoughts on “Bacon Almond Chicken Stir Fry

  1. canadagirleatspaleo says:

    holy yum! This looks amazing. Droooooling over here!

  2. PigLove says:

    Your blog somewhat intrigued me although I think you look at me in a different way with a glazed look in your eyes. Am I right? LOL. XOXO – Bacon

  3. Ree says:

    Reblogged this on ReeCreates and commented:
    OK…so this looks amazingly good…I am thinking this just might be supper tonight! πŸ™‚

  4. alexandra says:

    Yum, yum! I will definitely have to try this. I assume that eliminating the sweetener and replacing the tamari soy sauce with coconut aminos will satisfy the strictest of paleo followers and those completing a Whole30. I also wonder if using coconut oil as the fat might help with the flavor. I’ll report back (or reblog) with the results :). Thanks for another delicious suggestion!

    • Sure, you could definitely go with coconut aminos, great idea! coconut oil would be great, otherwise, I bet a little cinnamon might be good in place of a sweetener too (it goes great with almond butter and bacon!)

  5. Chef Randall says:

    I am glad it can stick to your ribs. I am going to make this. What a wonderful creation. Never thought of bacon in a stir fry and with almonds. great recipe.

    Thanks also for viewing my blog, Savor the Food. I appreciate your readership and comments a lot.

    Chef Randall

  6. Brilliant! Would work real well with a rotisserie chicken as well-

  7. I’m a little concerned that Mrs Peckish will stop reading my blog and spend all her time here. 365 bacon sounds like her idea of heaven. I’ll definitely give this a go because she’s a fan of cabbage too.

Leave Some Bacon Love!

