Bacon Kale Chips

16

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon Kale Chips

Bacon Kale Chips

I know people make rabid health claims about kale chips and how they taste so good, blah-bitty blah.

I think they’re fine.

AKA, booooring. And otherwise overrated. 

So I subbed in bacon grease for oil. It automatically made them better. Even if it was all in my head.

P.S. Don’t forget, my Salad Cancels Out Bacon rule.

Which definitely applies here: all bacon calories are cancelled out by the lack of calories and flavor in the salad greens (in this case kale).  😉

BACON KALE CHIPS

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 head kale
  • 1-2 tbsp melted bacon grease
  • dash of salt

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. The kale must be really dry before baking. I suggest letting it dry on wire racks or paper towels for several hours prior to baking.
  2. Preheat oven to 250.
  3. If bacon grease isn’t liquid, warm it in oven, just until melted.
  4. Cut or tear large chunks of kale leaves from stem.
  5. Toss in a bowl with bacon grease.
  6. Spread kale in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  7. Sprinkle with salt.
  8. Cook 50+ minutes, until light and crispy.
  9. Crunch, munch, crunch!  🙂
16 thoughts on “Bacon Kale Chips

  1. This makes kale sound almost good. Although people on coumadin-type medications have to be careful with how much kale they eat – ON the other hand, we can have all the bacon we want with no impact on vitamin K…making bacon practically a health food, right? 😀

  2. I’m so doing this the second my grocery store gets kale back in stock! ❤

  3. Now if you just took the kale out of these and substituted bacon, they’d be spectacular! 🙂

  4. I love kale, but I just don’t get the kale “chips” (same with the seaweed chips). Now mixing kale pieces and bacon pieces into potato chips, I’d be all over that!

  5. I tried liking kale chips, but they annoyingly get lodged in all my teeth crevices. Gross.

  6. deedeemallon says:

    I love kale chips, but the idea of using bacon grease is TANTALizing! going to try…

  7. […] on wordpress the other day, and came across this simple, brilliant idea from 365 Days of Bacon: Bacon Kale Chips. How had I never thought of this before?? Brilliant. I whipped up a batch and scarfed them down […]

  8. So, I have a dehydrator…any suggestions on how to alter your directions for using that instead of the oven?

Leave Some Bacon Love!

