Bacon Quiche Cupcakes

27

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon Quiche Cup

Bacon Quiche Cup

Here’s an easy Easter quiche. That isn’t so … “quiche-y.”

But still fancy and flavorful.

Call them quiche cups, egg muffins, cupcakes, bacon-wrapped nests, bacon-and-egg-vortices….etc. It makes no difference. They’re going in your belly!

Kids will eat this because it’s a colorful cupcake. Men will eat it because it’s wrapped in bacon.

If they haven’t already filled up on their Easter Bacon Baskets filled with my Bacon Chocolate Rees-ter Eggs, that is.

😉

BACON QUICHE CUPS

makes 12 cups

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 strips of bacon
  • 1-2 tbsp bacon grease
  • 8 eggs
  • 3 tbsp heavy cream
  • 4+ oz goat cheese, crumbled
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1 zucchini, grated
  • 4+ cloves fresh-pressed garlic
  • fresh dill, chopped
  • dash black pepper
  • (optional) 1 tsp turmeric

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Fry bacon on stove till just starting to crisp. Immediately use the bacon to line the sides of muffin tin cups.
  3. Fry mushrooms and pepper in bacon grease on medium-low till soft (5 minutes).
  4. Add in zucchini, garlic and herbs, cooking 3-5 additional minutes on low.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, and black pepper.
  6. Spoon sautéed veggies/herbs in bacon-lined muffin tin cups, filling cups about 1/2 full.
  7. Drop a couple crumbles of goat cheese on top of veggies in each cup.
  8. Pour egg mixture into cups till just full.
  9. Bake 15 – 20 minutes, or until starting to fluff and turn golden brown.
  10. Cool on wire rack.
27 thoughts on “Bacon Quiche Cupcakes

  1. Donna Frasca says:

    As long as it’s “Bacony”

  2. mjohnson9706 says:

    Now there’s a cupcake I would sink my teeth into!!! LOVE it!!

  3. Chef Randall says:

    I am going to buy some bacon and making this tomorrow mornings breakfast. What a brilliant idea.

    Does the Bacon industry know you are their favorite customer? 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

    I have my own website now at http://www.savorthefood.com. Your invited to check it out. Our blog is Fun with Food. 🙂

    Chef Randall

    • aww Chef Randall, you made my day! hope it turns out well.

      (I wish the bacon industry would catch on and donate some free bacon to me! ha!)

  4. sourcookies says:

    I will definitely try this! thanks for the recipe!

  5. Yuna says:

    Ow,,the picture really arouses my appetite. i already copied the recipe. thank you for sharing. its looks delicious *drooling*.

  6. Shelley Sikora says:

    Reblogged this on Back Pocket Recipes by Shelley Sikora and commented:
    What a great recipe.

  7. Ronit Penso says:

    Wow, that’s a brilliant idea! never saw it anywhere and I sure will try it. I’m thinking it could also be great with some tomatoes inside – a twist on BLT, one of my favorite sandwiches…

  8. cmblake6 says:

    This looks so good, oh dear this looks good!

  9. cmblake6 says:

    Reblogged this on Cmblake6's Weblog and commented:
    Not that much work involved in this for the flavor achieved. OMG!

  10. Angie says:

    Has an attempt been made to assemble them overnight?

    • hi Angie,

      I have sauteed the veggies and combined them with the egg mixture the night before!

      but I would be careful about cooking the whole thing the night before tho — esp if you enjoy crispier bacon — the eggs will likely soggy the bacon overnight 😉

  11. Angie says:

    🙂 church event, I have four ovens and a team of people to assist me!

    Have you tried dredging the bacon in brown sugar and chili powder, and baking the bacon? I might do a trial run combining that method with your recipe….. It will either be really good, or really bad. The bacon chili powder method is pure awesomeness though!
    Again, thanks for the recipe idea and super fast replies!!

    • that sounds delish!

      I’ve sweet-rubbed once and hot sauce marinated once, but never the combined the sweet and hot! But my mouth is watering — so I’d predict it a hit!

      love to hear how it goes for you! best of luck for your church event! 🙂

  12. Angie says:

    I had to share this with you…. I found some jalapeño bacon at HEB… I used it for my trial run today, words cannot express how good the were, I added a little bit of Irish cheddar to the eggs and some of my house seasoning. They were perfect!

Leave Some Bacon Love!

Copyright © 365DaysofBacon. 2013. All Rights Reserved.
