Venison Bacon Verdict

4

by 365daysofbacon

venison bacon

venison bacon

Venison bacon . . . deeeer-licious!

It really puts the “hunter” in hunter-gatherer.

Like duck bacon, it hadn’t actually occurred to me that there even was such a thing as venison bacon.

But boy am I happy that one of my co-workers was generous enough to donate some to me.  Obvioulsly, I fried it up and ate it. I will admit when I saw it, I thought it looked like sausage. Wrong!

It was all bacon: crispy, salty, with a nice, meaty flavor. If you can find some venison bacon (this one was from a butcher), nab it!!

P.S. I will gladly take more bacon donations. Just sayin’   🙂

4 thoughts on “Venison Bacon Verdict

  1. I had a Venison Carpaccio recently – it brought me back to my childhood where I grew up in the woods (true story) and ate Venison regularly. I have missed it!
    Where would I get some Venison Bacon commercially? I want!

    • Wellllll…It’s gonna be tricky. You might have to do some urban hunting/gathering. 😉

      Best bet would be a butcher shop or meat market.

      Or, I saw it offered when I Googled by a couple of online butchers/distributors ($$$).

      The venison bacon I received came from a deer my coworker hunted, and even said “not for sale” on the package!

  2. […] Venison Bacon Verdict (365daysofbacon.wordpress.com) […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

