Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

10

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

Yeah, I did it. Made my own Bacon Nutella.

Bacon HazelNutella is superduperBACONtastical.

But how do I eat it?! You ask.

I think it’d be great on Paleo pancakes or waffles. Or as an excuse to eat more celery. But I’ll be brutally honest. Usually, I eat it with a spoon.

And, I may or may not have spread it on some cold, crunchy strips of bacon. Maybe possibly even dunked the bacon strips right in the jar. That’s bacon chocolate love. Ha.

BACON CHOCOLATE HAZELNUTELLA

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups hazelnuts (I recommend toasting them, below)
  • 1/2 cup bacon grease
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • sweetener of your choice, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • crumbled bacon, if desired

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. To toast hazelnuts: Preheat oven to 275. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the hazelnuts in a single layer. Bake 5 minutes. Stir. Bake and additional 3-5. Remove from pan and let cool.
  2. In a food processor, pulse hazelnuts until fine crumbs.
  3. Add in bacon grease a blend until thick and creamy, scraping and stirring as necessary.
  4. Add in cocoa powder, vanilla, sweetener, salt. You’ll want to taste test. Β πŸ˜‰
  5. Continue to blend until desired consistency is reached. (It’ll be partly coarse)
  6. Sprinkle in crumbled bacon bits, if using.

TIPS: Placing/storing this in the fridge will thicken it.Β The longer is remains in the fridge the thicker it gets. If you keep it in there for a few hours or more, it becomes like a rich, nummy fudge!

10 thoughts on “Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

  1. mjd603 says:

    You are a genius.

  2. This sounds as easy as it is craving inducing.

  3. Woah! This is some serious stuff! I am DEFINITELY going to have to be making some of this immediately!

    As a similar idea: I keep a container of powdered chocolate at my desk at work. When I’m craving a chocolatey snack, I grab a small jar of raw almond/cashew/hazelnut butter and mix it about 50/50 with the chocolate powder. It’s an amazing mid-day snack – and perfectly Paleo!

    • mmmmmm. yum.
      i keep a 100% cacao baking chocolate bar at my desk. And coconut oil for dunking it in. No nuts, but still. Same sorta idea. πŸ˜‰

      • Which bar do you use? I’ve found soy lecethin in some of the baking chocolate bars – and others are “Alkali processed”. If I knew which bar was good, though, I might be able to go that route.

      • i use the non-fancy Baker’s brand available conventionally. it’s an actual baking choc bar usually housed next to the chocolate chips and such. only ingredient is chocolate πŸ™‚

  4. laurasmess says:

    Where do you get bacon grease from? Yum, I do love bacon but I haven’t verged into the chocolate bacon category yet… it just makes me a little queasy. Bacon and caramel though? Love it. LOVE it. So I guess the chocolate stuff is the next step πŸ˜‰

    • i save the bacon grease from cooking bacon! and reuse it! πŸ™‚

      Caramel bacon is pretty super, I can’t lie.

      I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the combination of bacon and chocolate. I wouldn’t steer you wrong! πŸ™‚

Leave Some Bacon Love!

