Bacon Brussel Bake for Mother’s Day

4

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon Brussel Bake

Bacon Brussel Bake

I don’t know about your mother, but mine really loves brussel sprouts.

In honor of Mother’s Day, I’ve concocted this Bacon Brussel Bake.

  • The good news: It’s pretty awesome.
  • The bad news: Sorry Mom, I won’t be making it for you on Mother’s Day.

Cuz I’ll be out of town.

GULP.

Does this mean I’m bacon grounded? Will I lose my bacon allowance for the month?

I sure hope not.

Because I’d hate to have to throw an adult tantrum.

BACON BRUSSEL BAKE

INGREDIENTS:

  • bacon
  • 1/4+ cup bacon grease
  • 1.5 – 2 lbs brussel sprouts
  • 1 lb hamburger
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 cup hazelnuts, toasted
  • lemon juice, 1 tbsp
  • garlic cloves, pressed or chopped
  • cheese, if desired
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Fry bacon, drain on paper towels, set aside in freezer to cool, reserve grease.
  2. Pre-heat oven to 275. Toast hazelnuts on parchment paper lined pan for 4-6 minutes, stirring once. Remove hazelnuts from pan and set aside to cool.
  3. Turn oven up to 450.
  4. Spread brussel sprouts and garlic in a 9×13 pan. Stir in melted bacon grease, lemon juice, salt/pepper until coated. Bake uncovered for 25 minutes. (If they start getting too brown on outside, cover with aluminum foil).
  5. Meanwhile, brown hamburger and onions on stovetop. (Separate pans or together. I like separate so I can cook the onions in bacon grease and get them nice an carmelized!) Set aside.
  6. Grind hazelnuts into a rough-chunk powder.
  7. Check brussel sprouts for tenderness with a fork. If sprouts are soft and nearly done, add in hamburger, onions, and optional cheese, baking just until warmed/cheese is melted.
  8. Remove from oven. Stir in ground hazelnuts and bacon. Serve.

 

4 thoughts on “Bacon Brussel Bake for Mother’s Day

  1. PigLove says:

    Nice. I’ll take two orders minus the bacon please ūüôā oink snort. XOXO – Bacon

  2. mylivoniaranchhome says:

    I LOVE brussell sprouts! I usually brown mine in butter ~ But this sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to try it!!

  3. Just one big mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  4. […] Despite the steaming with garlic and ginger, and the tossing in butter/salt/pepper, these brussel were just nothing compared to my¬†BACON BRUSSEL SPROUTS¬† or ¬†BACON BRUSSEL BAKE. […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

