Easy Bacon Salt

12

by 365daysofbacon

image

I’m embarrassed and ashamed to admit it: I have never thought of making my own bacon salt.

But now that I’ve been introduced to the idea, you know I want to take it one step further… here’s my question for the great and powerful Googles:

Can I soak in a bathtub of bacon salt?

Don’t pretend like a bathtub of bacon isn’t one of your life dreams.

Oh. Right. That’s just me.

Either way, this is a great recipe from Chef Ani per the Whole Foods “A Salute to Bacon” cooking class I attended.

I feel like I should rub some salt into a wound for never even thinking of this.

Just not bacon salt. Cuz that’d be a sad waste.

BACON SALT

  • 1/4 cup coarse salt, such as kosher salt
  • 2 thick-cut slices of bacon cooked very crisp

Directions: Process the bacon and salt together in a small food processor until homogenous.

Yield: About 1/2 cup. Store tightly sealed in the refrigerator for up to one month.

12 thoughts on “Easy Bacon Salt

  1. bentodays says:

    Can’t believe I never thought of this before, such a great idea!

  2. mjohnson9706 says:

    I’m thinking about replacing the kosher salt with some Epsom salt and hitting the bath tub because that just sounds heavenly!!!

  3. Reblogged this on Sugar Land BBQ and commented:
    If you want to make anything better you can add either bacon, cheese or salt. This will cover 2 of them.

  4. Matthew W says:

    MMmmmmm?

    Bacon salt to put on my Margarita glass?

    Or even Bacon sugar??

  5. […] was recently introduced to the idea of making my own Bacon Salt. You know I want to take that one step […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

