Reflections on Bacon: 6 Months of Bacon & Blogging

14

by 365daysofbacon

2013: Year of Bacon

I’m so honored to share this REFLECTIONS ON BACON guest post for the friendly, intellectual, spiritual, bacon-loving Brett from Irresistibly Fish.

It just so happens that June is my 6-month 365DaysofBacon blog-aversary. What a great time to pause and reflect on my bacon-blog relationship!

As you might know, I wasn’t always a bacon lover. For the first 27 years of my life I didn’t care about bacon. At some point, I vehemently opposed its taste, smell, and general presence in the world.

Fortunately, I had a bacon “accident.” Or perhaps it was divine intervention. One day I was conversing over a salad, distractedly chewing, and there it was! That small, sneaky, thick-cut, hickory-smoked, crunchy bacon crumble in my mouth. AND I LOVED IT.

The rest, of course, is history. Several truckloads of bacon and one silly New Year’s resolution later, I found myself in the midst of https://365daysofbacon.wordpress.com. Now I can viably dream, cook, eat, write, and share my bacon love.

But don’t be fooled. It’s not all meat candy and crunchy bacon sprinkles.

It is work. Producing a post a day and having a full-time job is … demanding. Will I make it another 6 months? I’ll try.  🙂

The UPs and DOWNs of Bacon Blogging

SOCIOECONOMIC IMPACT

  • Excuses for Eating Bacon: Up
  • Personal Bacon Consumption: Up
  • Worldwide Bacon Consumption: Up
  • Cult Popularity of Bacon: Up

(Ahem, could there be a coincidence here?)

PSYCHOLOGICAL IMPACT

  • Creative Satisfaction: Up 
  • Boredom time: Down
  • Available Free-time: Down
  • Hours of Sleep: Down

(satisfaction comes with sacrifice, apparently)

SOCIAL IMPACT

  • New friends made (because of bacon): Up
  • Conversation topics to fill social situations: Up
  • People who think I’m crazy: Up
  • Times neighbors have heard my smoke detectors: Up
  • Chance someone will throw me in Bacon Rehab: Up

(social normality is overrated. and who defines “normal,” anyway?)

OTHER IMPACT

  • Personal love of bacon: Up!Up!Up!

Gosh. Even after 6 months, I can still manage to make myself hungry for bacon.

Anyway, here are my top 5 fav bacon experiments:

 

Chocolate Bacon Roses

Chocolate Bacon Roses

Bacon Fatty

Bacon Fatty

Bacon Reeses Chocolate Cups

Bacon Reeses Chocolate Cups

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

Bacon Chocolate HazelNutella

Bacon Pancakes

Bacon Pancakes

14 thoughts on “Reflections on Bacon: 6 Months of Bacon & Blogging

  1. mjd603 says:

    Somehow I missed the bacon chocolate cups. This will be remedied. We had a modified peach bacon crumble (I used apricots, and we poured on fresh, local, heavy cream).

    You are a bacon-spiration. Keep it up, your people need you 🙂

    • yayyy. Glad you tried it … and with apricots! Great idea — modifications make life.

      Thank you so much for your readership!! 🙂

  2. PigLove says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary. I found you something bacon. What’s your email?? Send it to me at mine baconthompson@gmail.com
    I wonder if you’ve seen what I found a picture of? Snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  3. brettfish says:

    ah, the privilege was all mine person-whose-name-i-know-cos-of-an-accidental-email-incident-but-won’t-reveal… thankx so much for sharing the bacon love and all strength to you as you head into the final stretch slash fry.

  4. Matthew W says:

    Fortunately, I had a bacon “accident.”

    Another Bacon Epiphany !!

  5. happy 6 month blog-o-bacon-versary!!! Hoping you make it another 6 months and beyond!

  6. When are you going to brag about your blood numbers?

    • well i dont have any numbers to report yet….

      but ManBacon does, and I do need to get on that… soon soon soon!

      • Awesome! I can’t wait to see the picture you took of the doctor’s face when you informed him that this was all on a bacon diet! 🙂

  7. […] Reflections on Bacon: 6 Months of Bacon & Blogging (365daysofbacon.wordpress.com) […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

Copyright © 365DaysofBacon. 2013. All Rights Reserved.
