Bacon Bam-Bam Meatballs

21

by 365daysofbacon

image

I ran a little experiment this weekend. I gave out a few Bacon Bam-Bams to the fam, and I didn’t tell them what was in them.

For the same reason I don’t really want to tell you what’s in them.

Bacon BamBam Meatballs:

the coolest way to eat liver.

They ate ’em. And they liked ’em.

At least, before they knew there was liver in them.

I know, I knowwww. Liver is not now, nor ever shall be, a “socially acceptable” food. (Even when combined with bacon.)

I find it amusing that there’s people who turn up their noses at liver and organ meats but are fine eating “regular meat” (muscle), as well as gelatin and hot dogs.

They should really look up what’s in gelatin and hot dogs. Suckerrrrrz.

Anyway, now that you’re not hungry, ha, I want you to know these Bacon Bam-Bams are seriously amazeballs.

Also, when I told ManBacon I was making liver meatballs, his response was “Yum!” Which is when it occurred to me: ours is a special kind of love. Not many say “Yum” to liver meatballs.

P.S. You could sub out the liver for a muscle meat. HA. 

BACON MEAT PILES

Note: I recommend making the meat mixture ahead of time and letting it “meld” flavors overnight, 4-24 hours. But you don’t have to.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tbsp bacon grease
  • 1 lb liver (or ground beef)
  • 1 lb spicy pork sausage
  • 1 egg
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, peeled & chopped
  • handful of parsley or other herb
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • (optional) 1/2 – 1 cup roasted red peppers
  • 1 cup ground flaxseed

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pulse onion, garlic, and liver in food processor just until combined.
  2. Pulse in pork, egg, herbs, paprika, salt, peppers, and bacon grease.
  3. Cover and refrigerate meat mixture overnight.
  4. Preheat oven to 400 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  5. Mix flaxseed into meat.
  6. Form into 2-3″ meatballs or stacks.
  7. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool.
21 thoughts on “Bacon Bam-Bam Meatballs

  1. PigLove says:

    Mom found a picture of something bacon for you. Email her at my address baconthompson@gmail.com and she will send it to you. XOXO – Bacon

  2. cmblake6 says:

    That sounds like a VERY good way to get some organ meats into the mix for sure!

  3. cmblake6 says:

    Reblogged this on Cmblake6's Weblog and commented:
    We all know liver is a good thing, but most people have never had it done right so they turn their nose up or walk past it in the store. THIS sounds like a way to make it very palatable!

  4. I love liver and all those inards! They can be the best part of the animal – and it is time that we stop being so sensitive! Its all about Nose-to-Tail eating 🙂 I look forward to making this!

    • yay! i agree.

      and am so glad to hear there are others who aren’t completely repulsed. this was so good i didnt even feel bad for tricking my family! double win!

  5. This looks more successful than the efforts of a friends’ mother, who tried to get her family to eat liver cabbage rolls. Apparently, it didn’t work. 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness those are delicious looking! I just had my afternoon snack, and don’t need another bite of food; and yet, seeing these is making me hungry again!

  7. Matthew W says:

    I love the fact that the first ingredient is “Bacon Fat.”

  8. Ok. I want to try these, but do they have a liver taste? I can fool my kids and husband, but I can’t fool myself regarding the taste of liver. I must be a beef liver “supertaster.” Chicken livers–fine. Beef–no. So if you think these really masked the flavor, I want to try them!! If not, I’ll try all your other recipes instead and keep eating my chicken livers!! Have a good one!

  9. […] I couldn’t have done it without ManBacon, who withstands awful Bacon Burns, crushes Bacon Bam-Bam Meatballs, scales tall stacks of Bacon Pancakes, fights for my Bacon-Wrapped Heart, and still finds time to […]

Leave Some Bacon Love!

