Bacon Rutabaga Saute

2

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon Rutabaga Saute

Bacon Rutabaga Saute

I might need more bacon rutabaga in my life.

This delightful dish was served last week at work. Our chef sneaks bacon into things here and there. It’s glorious.

I confess, I took a little sample of this dish JUST BECAUSE IT HAD BACON in it.

It reintroduced me to a tasty root (ruuuuut?) vegetab-evil I’d forgotten about. Ruuuuuu-tabaga! Gosh I love that word. It’s gotta be the most fun of all the vegetables.

And when you add bacon, well, what can I say? Then it’s a party.

I’m pretty sure I got the ingredient jist, below, but if Chef John is reading, I fully expect him to correct my tastebuds.  😉

 

BACON RUTABAGA SAUTE

  • bacon
  • bacon grease / butter / coconut oil
  • rutabaga, sliced
  • red pepper
  • green onions
  • sliced red bell pepper
  • black pepper
  • salt

I can’t tell you his exact magic. But I’m guessing it goes something like this…

  1. Cook bacon
  2. Fry rutabaga, green onions, sliced red peppers.
  3. Sautee it all soft and tasty.
  4. Sprinkle with pepper and salt.
  5. Toss in a few extra drops of oil (or extra bacon grease).
2 thoughts on “Bacon Rutabaga Saute

  1. cmblake6 says:

    Reblogged this on Cmblake6's Weblog and commented:
    I remember rutabaga vaguely. It has been a LOT of years since I ate it, and I don’t know why it has been so long. I remember it as being quite tasty. But with bacon? Mmmmmm!

Leave Some Bacon Love!

Copyright © 365DaysofBacon. 2013. All Rights Reserved.
