Bacon-Wrapped Hot Diggity Dogs

9

by 365daysofbacon

Bacon-Wrapped Hot Dog

Bacon-Wrapped Hot Dog

You’re grilling these for the 4th of July.

Why? Because until Sunday night,

I hadn’t eaten a hot dog in… 20 years.

But I safely re-introduced my most hated food on the planet by WRAPPING IT IN BACON

See, when I was a kid, I hated hot dogs. And I mean, hated. As in when I was 8, I was forced to eat one, and … let’s just say my stomach forced it back up. All over the grandparents carpet. After that, I was no longer forced to eat hot dogs.

But I choose to try a hot dog again this weekend. Smothered in bacon-fried caramelized onions, happy yellow mustard, and tomato. 

It was daring, I’ll admit, but I went for an uncured, organic, grass-fed beef hot dog thanks to ManBacon’s excellent choice.

I had seconds. As in 2 hot dogs.

Apparently, bacon changes your tastebuds.

Bacon-Wrapped Hot Diggity Dogs

INGREDIENTS

  • bacon
  • hot dogs (use quality here, please)
  • romaine lettuce leaves (instead of buns!)

your choice of toppings:

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Fire up your grill.
  2. Break some toothpicks in half and soak in water. You’ll want 2 toothpicks per hot dog.
  3. Fry bacon strips on stove until they’re just barely starting to brown. They’ll be still mostly uncooked and floppy. Remove from pan. (LAZY VERSION: Just cook the bacon completely and crumple it on top of the hot dog. Prolly not as good, just sayin.) If you’re making bacon-fried caramelized onions, cook them in the bacon grease.
  4. Skewer hot dogs. Take bacon strips and wind around hot dogs, securing with toothpicks. (You’ll prolly need 2 strips per dog.)
  5. Grill bacon-wrapped hot dogs until cooked and crispy.
  6. Place hot dog in a leaf or two of romaine lettuce. Add your toppings and enjoy!
9 thoughts on “Bacon-Wrapped Hot Diggity Dogs

  1. boyswithgoats says:

    We are so trying this on Thursday

  2. Matthew W says:

    Any chance that the hot dog you were forced to eat was one of those Oscar Mayer “hot dogs?

  3. […] Bacon-Wrapped Hot Diggity Dogs (365daysofbacon.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Albertha says:

    Excellent blog you have hdre but I was wondering if you knew
    of any user discussion forums that covrr the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really like tto be a part of group where I can get opinions from other experienced
    people that share the same interest. If
    you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

Leave Some Bacon Love!

Copyright © 365DaysofBacon. 2013. All Rights Reserved.
